MurniNet 2.0


MURNInet an approach to measure and assess the sustainability of a city and its affiliates through the use of the 38 indicators - sustainability indicators.

Implementation of Sustainable Urban Indicators (MURNInet) is an application to create a database in digital form that can measure the sustainability of the city and also be able to give sustainability achievements of a local authority on an ongoing basis.
MURNInet interests:

i. Identify the problem, urban quality & make recommendations - the proposed solutions;

ii. Improve the level of facilities and level of services to residents;

iii. Obtain / provide the basis for solving the population problem;

iv. Be measuring & encourage 'local and foreign investors on the status of the sustainability of a city.

MURNInet implemented by JPBDSM involves major cities to adopt the 38 indicators.

Shah Alam City Council is the City Indicators Pilot Project Implementation Commission (MURNInet) conducted by DTCP Peninsular Malaysia since 2004 until now.

Selangor has taken the initiative MURNInet from 2006 through the signing of the Implementation Agreement MURNInet For All local authorities held on July 6, 2006.

To enhance performance indicators MURNInet in Selangor, two workshops were held ie on 13 to 14 April 2006, and July 6, 2006. As a result of the workshop, 24 indicators have been added based on the Safe City Programme, Selangor Maju, Agenda 21 Local Authorities and Local Authority Performance Indicators.

Now, the State has adopted 62 of 38 indicators of existing indicators and the addition of 24 new indicators covering 11 sectors of the demographic, housing, economic, utilities and infrastructure, community facilities and recreation, environment, sociology and social impacts, land use, tourism and heritage, as well as the transport and flow of accessibility and financial management.

Sustainability status of the 42 cities in Peninsular Malaysia are shown in Table 1.

Table 1: Status of Local Area Sustainability 2008 For Implementation of DTCP MURNInet Peninsular Malaysia (Source: Sustainable Development Secretariat, Selangor DTCP)

1. Shah Alam, Selangor 86.84 (Sustainable)
2. Melaka 85.09 (Sustainable)
3. Jelebu, Negeri Sembilan 84.21 (Sustainable)
4. Johor Bahru Tengah 83.33 (Sustainable)
5. Port Dickson 83.33 (Sustainable)
6. Langkawi, Kedah 83.33 (Sustainable)
7. Kemaman, Terengganu 82.46 (Sustainable)
8. Selama, Perak 81.16 (Sustainable)
9. Kota Kinabalu, Sabah 79.63 (Medium Sustainable)
10. Pengkalan Hulu, Perak 79.28 (Medium Sustainable)
11. Alor Gajah, Melaka 78.95 (Medium Sustainable)
12. Georgetown, Pulau Pinang 78.07 (Medium Sustainable)
13. Kuching Selatan, Sarawak 76.92 (Medium Sustainable)
14. Kluang, Johor 76.67 (Medium Sustainable)
15. Kuala Kangsar, Perak 76.58 (Medium Sustainable)
16. Sandakan, Sabah 76.58 (Medium Sustainable)
17. Grik, Perak 76.35 (Medium Sustainable)
18. Temerloh, Pahang 75.86 (Medium Sustainable)
19. Gua Musang, Kelantan 75.56 (Medium Sustainable)
20. Tanjong Malim, Perak 75.44 (Medium Sustainable)
21. Jasin, Melaka 75.44 (Medium Sustainable)
22. Nilai, Negeri Sembilan 75.44 (Medium Sustainable)
23. Kuching Utara, Sarawak 75.44 (Medium Sustainable)
24. Kuala Terengganu, Terengganu 75.21 (Medium Sustainable)
25. Batu Gajah, Perak 73.87 (Medium Sustainable)
26. Setiawan, Perak 73.68 (Medium Sustainable)
27. Bentong, Pahang 73.68 (Medium Sustainable)
28. Kota Bharu, Kelantan 72.92 (Medium Sustainable)
29. Kampar, Perak 72.81 (Medium Sustainable)
30. Lenggong, Perak 72.07 (Medium Sustainable)
31. Ipoh, Perak 71.93 (Medium Sustainable)
32. Parit Buntar, Perak 71.93 (Medium Sustainable)
33. Taiping, Perak 71.93 (Medium Sustainable)
34. Kuala Lipis, Pahang 71.54 (Medium Sustainable)
35. Tawau, Sabah 71.30 (Medium Sustainable)
36. Seri Iskandar, Perak 70.97 (Medium Sustainable)
37. Johor Bahru, Johor 70.83 (Medium Sustainable)
38. Miri, Sarawak 70.27 (Medium Sustainable)
39. Kulai, Johor 69.57 (Medium Sustainable)
40. Tumpat, Kelantan 69.33 (Medium Sustainable)
41. Sibu, Sarawak 69.30 (Medium Sustainable)
42. Machang, Kelantan 68.42 (Medium Sustainable)

Beginning in 2008, the Selangor State MURNInet itself implemented by local authorities through the website e-MURNInet Punjab and coordinated by the Selangor DTCP.

Urban Sustainability Status (MURNInet) Local Council for the year 2008 showed 11 local authorities achieve sustainable status of MBSA, MBPJ, MPK, MPKj, MPAJ, MPS, MPSJ, MPSepang, MDKS, MDKL and MDSB which is the percentage of 80% to above. MDHS is only moderate level of 77.04%. (Refer to Table 1 and Figure 1)

Table 2: Status of Sustainability Local Council Area in 2008 (Source: Sustainable Development Secretariat, Selangor DTCP)

1. Majlis Bandaraya Shah Alam Sustainable (87.63%)
2. Majlis Bandaraya Petaling Jaya Sustainable (86.56%)
3. Majlis Perbandaran Klang Sustainable (81.42%)
4. Majlis Perbandaran Kajang Sustainable (81.67%)
5. Majlis Perbandaran Ampang Jaya Sustainable (82.51%)
6. Majlis Perbandaran Selayang Sustainable (81.42%)
7. Majlis Perbandaran Subang Jaya Sustainable (81.97%)
8. Majlis Perbandaran Sepang Sustainable (80.65%)
9. Majlis Daerah Kuala Selangor Sustainable (82.51%)
10. Majlis Daerah Kuala Langat Sustainable (85.79%)
11. Majlis Daerah Hulu Selangor Medium Sustainable  (77.04%)
12. Majlis Daerah Sabak Bernam Sustainable  (84.92%)

Print   Email